Walking around Bristol, VA.

I’ve lived in a few different places in my life, and currently reside in Bristol.  My father moved us down here while I was in college because it was quieter.  He liked that.  And I agree, it is quieter.  I can honestly say that there is no place like Bristol.

One of my favorite things to do in Bristol on the weekends (when I don’t feel like making the hour drive to Johnson City) is to walk around downtown.  I can spend all day on State Street.  I was born and raised in Northern Virginia, and fell in love with Old Town Alexandria, and for those 5 or 6 blocks I am reminded of the beauty of a bustling city.  It would be a perfect place, if it weren’t for the teenagers.

Don’t get me wrong, I have teenage friends, I am only in my mid-20’s.  But, the ones I’ve run across all around Bristol, and especially downtown are a special kind of aggravating.  Since I have spent a lot of time downtown, I have made a list of everything that teenagers do that bring my patience to a stand still:

-Everything.

That’s right.  And I want to clarify that I’m not stereotyping all teenagers everywhere.  I’m merely talking about the ones my family and I encounter in downtown Bristol.

They imitate the siren sounds of emergency vehicles nearby.  They stand outside of the bars at night hoping they get a chance to get in.  Some of them do it every night, or several times a week.  They jump out and try to scare people, and the only people they actually scare are the elderly, or small dogs.  They don’t even hide behind anything, they just walk and suddenly jerk towards people.  C’mon guys, if you’re going to try this, at least try to be clever about it.  No one likes an idiot.  Which is what you’re being.

One of the things most special to me about State Street and the area surrounding it is the Paramount Theatre.  Rarely do I go see a show, but I love the ambiance of downtown when a big show lets out.  It brings a little elegance into the mixture of everything else that is good about this area (barring the teens).  People are dressed nice and formal, everyone is being courteous to one another, and I am reminded simply of one one of the “Old Hollywood Dinner Parties”.  It’s something I look forward to, even if I can’t afford to partake in the main event.

In short, I would love to see the teenagers who hang around down there join in the sophistication I have seen and help turn State Street back into what it was in its hay-day.  A truly beautiful place to be.

5 Responses to “Walking around Bristol, VA.”

  1. Most of the times blogs are the same but i think you can add some value. Grats !

  2. I like your site but there seems to be an awful lot of garbage comments on this page that make no sense.

  3. Hello. I just wanted to pop in and comment on the design of your blog. Don’t take this the wrong way, but it’s too loud. It’s doing way too much and it takes away from what youve got to say – which I think is really important.

  4. I can’t believe your blog isn’t more popular. The information you give here would be useful to many people if you were only ranked better in Google. I found your site through a friend of mine or even I wouldn’t have came.

  5. Is there any way to subscribe to this post? I’d like to be updated on the comments here as they come in. I’ve always been somewhat of a debater and I’d like to hear other’s opinions on this issue.

Leave a Reply

