Nerdy Mondays III: Fan Tributes

As anyone even half as nerdy as me knows, video games seep into popular culture more and more every day.  Fifty years ago, there was no such thing as Video Game Addiction, but now it is not only common, but an officially documented psychological disorder.  I think most people my age (25) and younger either have it now, or have had it for a while sometime in the past (I don’t want to say they “suffer from” it, because there is no suffering in video games).  And if you’re like me, you’re a victim of the current economic conditions and find yourself with more spare time than usual.

CAN I GET AN AMEN?!?1

It’s not too surprising that people who generally watch an average of 3-8 hours of constant visual stimuli PER DAY, tend to be a little more creative.  I haven’t found any proof, and in all honesty I haven’t looked.  But it makes sense to me that people who play video games might end up more talented painters.  If that weren’t the case, then the world wouldn’t have such awesome artwork as:

THERE'S my Amen.

Or this…

"They've collected enough gold coins to make Nintendo richer than Oil Tycoon Jesus." -Michael Swaim

Or this one, it’s a little dark but my gosh, look at the detail!

Pictured: what should be hanging in Mona Lisa's spot at the Louvre

Some of the art work and creativity are amazing on these fan tributes to video games, and their characters.  I however, am not so creative.  But I am a writer, and being all worked up over seeing how other people pay homage to their favorite games, I wrote a poem.  I wrote it at 6am a few days ago before I had my coffee, so it should be pretty awesome.  Hope you enjoy it!

When it comes to video games, you can call me the Doctor, Hugh Laurie,

I’m one of the nerds to blame, for keeping alive the Atari.

I can’t imagine & don’t know why I like the retros so much,

I wasn’t the only kid in the 90’s who used his Nintendo as a crutch.

I can appreciate sports, and see how fun tennis is,

But I’d rather be home, playing my Sega Genesis.

Super Nintendo came on scene next, and people thought it was better,

But as a Sega fan back then, I’d rather be caught reading The Scarlet Letter.

I always wanted, but couldn’t afford the 32X or Sega CD,

I spent my allowance on Virtual Boy, a bad decision on which we all agree.

The Dreamcast came out near Christmas and was the only thing I wanted,

It was fun for a while, but the library of games left me daunted.

Then I got a Playstation, while my brother got 64,

The controllers for that looked like too much of a chore.

I like networking with the PS3 & Xbox Live,

But much prefer cartridges to a Compact Disk Drive.

I now play the Wii, and enjoy all of Mario’s Adventures,

I hope to be playing them until I have to use dentures.

That’s right.  That’s the next internet sensation right there.  I’m in talks with T.I. about turning that into an obscene rap video.  But I should tell you that “T.I.” really means “Not T.I.”.  And by “obscene rap video”, I mean it’s probably not going to go any farther than this article.  It’s not my best work, is what I’m saying, shut up.

Back to my original train of thought though.  I wish the market were bigger for all the things people come up with.  Check this one out:

 

Handmade awesomeness!

According to Dorkly.com, this was handmade by some kid in woodshop.  WOODSHOP!  The last thing I made in woodshop looked less like this, and more like an oval-y, circle-y thing that resembled the used-end of a wood chipper.  But then again, I write and do math, I can’t do pictures, I leave that up to the people who are actually good at it.  Also, how cool is this bed?

 

Whoever sewed this together needs to be on the cover of a very sophisticated magazine, like Game Player.

Granted if you had this bedspread you’d probably never ever have a girl in it.  BUT HOW COOL IS IT?!  This picture single-handedly makes me want to learn how to sew.  And this list goes on, and on, and on, dear readers.  I can’t tell you how many cool things nerdy video game fanatics have come up with.  Seriously, go do a Google Image Search for “video game fan tributes”.  There are more pages of those, than there have been unclaimed farts in elevators since the dawn of time.  It astonishes me.

It just goes to show that sometimes, our parents were overly worried about us staying inside to play vids, when all the other kids were outside in the sun, using their muscles, playing with some kind of ball or something.  Sure we turned out a little paler than the other kids, and our muscles weren’t overly developed, but our imagination and mind got enough stimulation to keep us out of trouble.  And we got some cool merchandise and art work out of it.

*All photos are subject to copyright, and are property of their respective owners (I obtained these images off of Google Image Search)*

14 Responses to “Nerdy Mondays III: Fan Tributes”

  1. yeah my dad will like this

  2. There is obviously a lot to know about this. I think you made some good points in Features also.
    Keep working ,great job!

  3. i see what you did there

  4. frank…

    excelent info, keep it coming…

  5. I have not been back again for any even though. wow has the dialogue taken off. bob are wonderful contributors. I am writing well informed post now. Put up later these days. Wonderful job!

  6. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return the favour”.I am trying to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  7. I have seen a lot of blogs but i really like the layout of yours. Keep up the good work my friend. 🙂

  8. Can you email me with any pointers about how you made your blog look this awesome, I’d appreciate it!

  9. I do not accept as true with everything on that site, but you do make some very useful things. I’m very excited about this subject and I myself act aa lots of study as well. Anyway it was a well thoughtout and pleasant read so I figured I would depart you a note. Feel free to check out my blog sometime & let me know what u feel.

  10. After study a couple of the blogposts on your site now, and I truly like your style of blogging. I tag it to my favorites internet site list and will be checking back soon. Pls check out my web site too and let me know your thought.

  11. When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!
    I don’t generally reply to content but I will in this case. Seriously a big thumbs up for this

    thankyou
    123inkjets coupon

  12. I was chatting with my friend on MSN about this and I’ve got to say that I completely agree with the poster near the beginning. And on a side note, I really like the colors you used for your blog. What theme is this?

  13. An attention-grabbing dialogue is price comment. I think that you must write extra on this topic, it might not be a taboo topic however generally individuals are not enough to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  14. I like reading this site but I can’t get it to load on my phone when I am at work, any ideas on how to fix that?

Leave a Reply

