The Outback Chronicles: Part 1 of ???

For a while, I worked at the Outback Steakhouse.  Keep in mind this was back in my “demon days” when I was making choices that weren’t very.. shall we say, good.  I have thought about how to write this article over and over again, and have even come close to writing it before, but I would delete it in hopes of getting a job there again.  It has recently been pointed out to me though, by another former Outback Steakhouse (OS-Lounge) employee, and now one of my best friends, that neither of us are probably ever going to work there again.  So let’s just jump right in, shall we?

There were so many things that happened in the back of house (BOH), or in other words, the kitchen area of the OS-Lounge.  I honestly don’t know where to begin.  Let’s start with the organization:

Background information

There was a prep crew,who always came in early and prepped the food.  There was some overlap in the shifts they worked and the shifts I worked.  The shifts I worked were usually 12 noon till about 3am.  No lunch, no official breaks, though there were 2 employee bathrooms in the back that everyone used to smoke cigarettes (or partake in other activities) in.  There were the dish guys.. which were 2 guys stuck in an area of the kitchen smaller than a cubicle.  It was always wet, it was always hot, and it was impossible to stay clean.  That’s where I was most of the time.  I tried to do a good job, it just depended on how busy we were.  But the dishes were rarely ever spotless, so the guys washing them were nowhere near clean.  Then you had the cooks.. there was “hot side” and “cold side” over there.  Cold side consisted of one guy running all the fryers, and another making all the salads, they were a team.  Hot side consisted of one guy running the saute station and the grillmaster, they too were a team.. or dance partners, if you will.

I’m just going to call it like it is, I don’t want to reveal anybody’s name, so we’ll call the grillmaster the GrillMaster, and the saute guy, SauteGuy.  My friend and the only guy I still talk to from there, we’ll call him Larry, the kitchen manager at the time we’ll call Ted, and I’ll make up the rest of the names as we go along, Okay! So…

Mischief & Mayhem…

If I took the time to write out everything that happened while I was working at the OS-Lounge, I’d have a book’s worth.  And like the title says, this is only part 1 of…. however many I feel like coming up with.  Here’s the basic outline of different things that happened there, and i will end on that.  All I really wanted to do in this article was whet your whistle for what’s to come.  Next week, I’ll jump into some of the serious stuff, but first I wanted to let you know what really goes on in the kitchen, and get you familiar with the characters.

  • One of my dish washing partners would sneak off to the bathroom, crush up a loritab, snort it off of one of the cleaning supply shelves, then come back to work fired up.
  • SauteGuy, Grillmaster, and a girl, we’ll call her TheWaitress, would constantly smoke the ganja in the employee bathrooms.  We’d use a metal shrimp skewer to lock them in, so they would get blamed for the smell.  They never got in trouble for it though.
  • Larry (this was back in his demon days as well, he’s not like this anymore) would show up most days hungover.  To be fair though, most of the kitchen crew did as well, Larry was the only one that would show up with a pistol strapped to his back though.
  • Another guy, we’ll call him Parolee, would come in with 64oz. plastic gas station cups full of beer, or some type of alcohol and drink it during his shift.
  • Ted was a good manager.  He did his job, and was #1 in the region.  He had to be balanced though.  What I mean is, if he were too broke, he couldn’t afford his drugs, and he’d just be pissed off all the time.  If he was making too much money, he’d be too strung out to really care about anything.
  • Food preparation… that’s all I’m going to say, I’ve got a ton of horror stories about that.
  • A waiter, we’re going to call him “Papa” once urinated in a can of Monster, and gave it to SauteGuy.  When SauteGuy took a swig of it, he said: “Whyzit taste like piss?”, and Papa’s answer to it?  “Because I pissed in it.”  These are the guys cooking and serving you your food.
  • It was so bad in the kitchen that if an employee had something to eat, then stepped out of sight for more than 10 seconds, came back, and the other employees even had a smirk on their face, they would throw their food away.
  • Drunk & rowdy customers.
  • Have you seen the movie “Waiting”?  Remember the after parties?  Those exist, and happen frequently.

Are you satisfied for now?  Keep checking back, and as the weeks go by, I’ll fill you in on all the goings-on behind the scenes.  You’ll probably want to read what I have to say before you decide to go eat there again.

Happy dining!

The Jester.


19 Responses to “The Outback Chronicles: Part 1 of ???”

  1. I was very pleased to find this site. I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out the new stuff you post.

  2. Recently i seen your website and therefore are already reading along. I think I’d leave my first comment. I don’t properly to chat with you other than I’ve enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I most certainly will keep visiting this site really often.

  3. Hello I am John ,Ive been a tea and coffee lover, truly LOVE the aroma & the taste of tea as the primary thing after getting up. I Gulp atleast eight cups every single day. Well nice blog, Have a good day.

  4. I would like to thankx for the time you have made in composing this post. I am hoping the same high-grade post from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me to start my own blog now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a good example of it.

  5. What theme are you utilizing on your site ? I really like the layout. Thank you for the bloging.

  6. This blog site has a lot of really helpful information on it! Cheers for sharing it with me.

  7. Advantageously, the article is in reality the greatest on this notable topic. I fit in with your conclusions and will thirstily look forward to your upcoming updates. Just saying thanks will not just be adequate, for the tremendous lucidity in your writing. I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay abreast of any updates. Gratifying work and much success in your business efforts!

  8. Can you help me, I am having a weird problem I cannot seem to be able to subscribe to your RSS feed, I am using google reader FYI.

  9. this is such a great resource that you are providing and you give it away for free. I love seeing webwebsites that figure out the value of providing a quality resource

  10. Hey, Are you have problems with the hosting? web-site loading extra sluggish for me

  11. You completed a few nice points there. I did a search on the topic and found a good number of persons will consent with your blog.

  12. great website! i’m bookmarking this!

  13. appreciate for nice site. Hope to see more soon.

  14. Certainly agree with just what you said. Your explanation was certainly the simplest to comprehend. I tell you, I usually get annoyed any time folks discuss issues that these people obviously don’t know about. You were able to t the nail on the head and spelled out the whole thing with out complication. Perhaps, folks could take a signal. Will likely be back to obtain more. Appreciate it

  15. I just can not imagine with incredibly blog greatly that helped me! God bless you “Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.” – Victor Hugo

  16. I’m impressed, I need to say. Truly rarely do I encounter a blog thats both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your notion is outstanding; the problem is some thing that not sufficient men and women are speaking intelligently about. I am extremely happy that I stumbled across this in my search for some thing relating to this.

  17. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

  18. I just can not imagine with strong your blog greatly that saved me. God bless you “The average Hollywood film star’s ambition is to be admired by an American, courted by an Italian, married to an Englishman, and have a French boyfriend.” – Katharine Hepburn

  19. Thanks for this great article! It has long been extremely insightful. I wish that you will continue sharing your knowledge with us.

Leave a Reply

