Top 10 Tuesdays 15: Movies to Watch…

 

I figured I’d do things a little different this week for my Top 10 list.  If you’ve noticed with my Nerdy Monday posts, I’ve been reviewing some of the strong points of some of my favorite movies.  I’m trying to break up my usual routine of reviewing video games that have been around for ages, as well as to not bore you guys (my readers).  Also, I play video games more than most people would deem necessary, or even healthy, anyways.  That brings us to this weeks Top 10 Tuesdays:

Top 10 Movies to watch when you don’t feel like playing video games.

#10.  Clerks II  (2006)

For me, this was an instant classic.  Brought to us by the very talented Kevin Smith, it is hilarious.  It’s perfect if you’re looking for a movie you don’t really have to pay attention to, to enjoy.  But the more you pay attention, the more you will laugh.  So order a pizza, turn off the Atari, and pop this movie in.  You don’t even have to see the first one to understand/enjoy it.

#9.  Goodfellas  (1990)

There’s never really a bad time to watch this one.  I can understand how not everyone who likes movies, likes The Godfather (even though it is one of the best movies of all time).  The Godfather is long, it’s drawn out, it makes you pay attention, and those daggone Italians are just weird!  Goodfellas however is in the same vein as The Godfather, but it’s more modernized, and instead of showing what a mafia family looks like from the inside looking out (like the Godfather), it shows what a mafia family looks like from the outside looking in.  Which I believe makes it easier to understand.  Even if you don’t like mafia movies, you’ll like this movie.  So unplug the Nintendo, grab some popcorn and give it a watch.

#8.  Waiting  (2005)

Perfect for anyone who has ever worked in a restaurant… or eaten in one for that matter.  Ryan Reynolds and Justin Long have excellent play, off of one another.  And Dane cook is in there as an EXTRA, before he became world famous.  He has like 2 lines and I find it hilarious that when Comedy Central advertises it, they throw in Dane Cook’s name.  Yeah, I’m not even sure if he’s credited for the role… he’s just sort of there.  Put down the Sega Genesis controller and get ready to laugh and/or be a little disgusted after watching this one.

#7.  Wedding Crashers  (2005)


What can I say about this movie?  Hilarious, great, inspiring, awespiring, and super-duper don’t even begin to describe it.  I guarantee you that this movie was responsible for about 10,000 weddings across the country being crashed back in 2005/2006/2007.  And that’s just low-balling it.  The way Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn have their back-and-forth scenes, never gets old.  Christopher Walken is amazing.. it’s really one of his better roles, and I’m not certain but I think this launched Bradley Cooper’s career (He’s one of the dudes from the Hangover).  Great movie, Push the N64 out of the way, kick your feet up and enjoy.

#6.  Without A Paddle  (2004)


This movie, I don’t think a lot of people know about it.  It was from before Seth Green came out with the whole Robot Chicken fandango, and it was right on the cusp of him becoming as famous as he is today.  It also features one of my most favorite actors, Matthew Lillard.  He is an underrated guy, and insanely funny.  Just his whole persona with the don’t-really-care-about-this attitude make just about anything funny.  Dax Shepard is also in it, and completes the trifecta of awesomeness that is Without A Paddle.  A hilarious albeit relatively unknown movie that deserves more attention than your Dreamcast does.

#5.  Fight Club  (1999)

Wow, really?  I put this movie on the list?  I have to pay attention to what I write down the night before.  This movie is just flat out awesome.  It’s in a league of its own.  It’s incredible, and deserves at least one viewing by anyone.  You will want to watch it more than once after you see the ending for the first time and SPOILER ALERT! find out that Brad Pitt’s character is a figment of Edward Norton’s imagination.  The perfect substitution for playing anything on Sega Saturn.. check it out and tell me if I’m wrong.

#4.  The Boondock Saints  (1999)


The first time I watched this movie, I watched it 4 times in a row.  I love everything about it.. the writing, the complexity, the characters, the actors, the setup, the plot.  It is the perfect “guys movie” — and in fact there have been more than one of my guy friends that have told me if they were to ever cheat on their girlfriends/wives.. it would be with this movie.  I can’t explain to you how awesome this movie is.  What is it with 1999 and making badass movies?  Way better than anything on your Game Boy.

#3.  Batman  (1989)


I usually try to let my own personal bias into these lists I make, but this one is a given.  Batman is the greatest superhero of all time.. and Jack Nicholson does a great performance as the joker.  There was a perfect showdown between good and evil in this movie.  It wasn’t overblown, it wasn’t overcomplicated, it wasn’t over- or under- anything.  It was an elegantly done performance by both actors and by the entire supporting cast.  Because of this movie, I often wonder how the whole Batman movie franchise would have turned out if Tim Burton had stayed on as the director for all of them.  Ah well, that’s just wishful thinking.  Put down your XBox controller– throw it across the room even.  Do it now, thank me later.

#2.  Christmas Vacation  (1989)


If you haven’t seen this movie, then you just need to excuse yourself from the computer right now, go to the bathroom, look at yourself in the mirror, and punch yourself in the face.  G’head.. I’ll wait.

Okay good.  This movie is a guilty pleasure of mine and gets watched at the very least once a year.  It’s great, it’s Christmasy, and it’s just.. great.

The Winner and #1 this week.  Eurotrip  (2004)

 
Quite possibly one of the funniest movies of all time.  This is your homework before you read my next Nerdy Monday’s article:  If you haven’t watched this movie, go watch it.  If you have watched this movie, watch it again.  More to come on this one.

 

Honorable Mentions:

  • A Murder of Crows
  • Ninja Turtles II: The Secret of the Ooze
  • Ready to Rumble

See you at the Blockbuster.

The Jester.

 

*All images are property of their respective owners and may be subject to copyright laws.  All images obtained through Google Image Search.*

Leave a Reply

